Reviews

We love hearing about your experiences at Porro, here's a small selection of our Favourite reviews!

Rachel Williams – June 2017

“Despite its popularity and rave reviews from other food bloggers in Cardiff, I will hold my hands up in shame to admit that I had not visited Porro Cardiff until last week. Despite my clear love for Italian food and restaurants alike, Porro has been one of those restaurants that has eluded me and I’d somehow never managed to book a table. But last week, I was invited to come along to their Wellfield Road branch to try some of the food and sample some wine with some fellow Cardiff bloggers.”

Read the review in full here


The CSI Girls – June 2017

“On Tuesday we were invited to try out the new menu at Porro on Wellfield Road in Cardiff. We’ve previously been to their other branch in Llandaff for a different blogger event but never been to this restaurant, so we couldn’t wait.”

Read the review in full here


The New Cardiffian – April 2017

“Finally, it was time to make our way back to Porro for our booking. Upon arrival, our table wasn’t ready so we were seated at a little couch in the front window (read: sunshine) and offered drinks while we waited. It wasn’t overly busy in the restaurant at that point, although it did fill up during our meal, so it’s a good idea to book ahead of time. For Sunday lunch, in addition to a delicious a la carte menu, there was a set menu of 2 or 3 courses including the roasts, a choice of pork, beef, chicken and lamb.”

Read the review in full here


WalesOnline – April 2017

“Cardiff’s top chefs reveal the restaurants where they love to eat Daniel Dursely from Porro, Llandaff”

Read the review in full here


WalesOnline – February 2017

11 pizzas to try in Cardiff which will push your tastebuds to the limit Priced at £12, this is one of two pizza offerings at this restaurant which serves modern British cuisine inspired by Italian cooking and eating. It is topped with tender stem broccoli (so it’s definitely good for you), Gorgonzola and roasted garlic – so it has a kick too.”

Read the review in full here


Tee’s n Cheese – April 2017

my return from Italy last week. I’ve never been one for pasta to be honest but probably because I’ve only ever really had it at home and when your mum has been known to burn it on the hob, yes a good few inches of pasta scorched and crusted on the bottom isn’t something too unfamiliar in my household. Well it sort of scars you for life.”

Read the review in full here


The Plate Licked Clean - March 2017

“These are unsettling, uncertain times; and is it too fanciful to imagine that, in such times, the comforting old rituals assume even greater importance?
What will a post-Brexit Britain look like? Whither Trump’s America? Who on earth is buying all those Ed Sheeran records? And could they please stop?
And what is more comforting- more anchored in the soothing rhythms of familiarity- than the Sunday roast?”

Read the review in full here

 


Hungry City Hippy - February 2017

“I recently spent 12 months working for Cardiff Met University and over the summer, I used to wander past this restaurant in Llandaff village at lunchtime. I would long to ditch the office grind and spend the rest of a sunny afternoon eating pasta and drinking wine, pretending to be in Italy As it happens, it wasn’t until a cold and foggy Friday evening in January that I finally made it in to Porro restaurantin Llandaff (owned by the same team behind the acclaimed Potted Pig) for an evening meal I was very much looking forward to.”

Read the review in full here


Pip and the City- January 2017

“It was an exciting day in the Jones household when we received invitation to the new Porro restaurant on Wellfield Road in Cardiff, many a blogger friend had enthused over their menus, so expectations were running high. Fetch me my best dress and least scuffed shoes darling, date night is happening!”

Read the review in full here


Gourmet Gorro - November 2016

“Wellfield Road’s branch of Porro is the second in the family of Italian restaurants from the Potted Pig team. With interesting ingredients like burrata, ’nduja and mocetta, Porro’s menu avoids the usual lasagne and pepperoni clichés. They’ve done a sterling job with the restaurant refurb too – I’m always a sucker for exposed brickwork, wood panels, filament bulbs and pretty tiles.”

Read the review in full here


Cardiff Girl – April 2017 -

It’s never been something I really wanted to eat for breakfast though. Until now. Now I’ve tried the breakfast calzone at Porro, Wellfield Road. It’s opened up a whole new world of dough and cheese before midday.”

Read the review in full here


Make a Booking

If you’re anything like us, just reading the reviews gets the appetite going. We’d love to cook for you!

Click here to make a reservation

 

Reviews

Wales Online- November 2016 -

“They have already established a firm favourite in Cardiff city centre with the Potted Pig and brought a taste of Italy to Llandaff with Porro. Now Cerys Furlong and the team have branched out, opening a second Porro right in the heart of Roath on the increasingly popular Wellfield Road.”

Read the review in full here


Soliciting Flavour- May 2015 -

“As a resident of Llandaff (for non Cardiffians, a suburb of Cardiff which as it has its own Cathedral is actually a “city within a city”), I have been waiting for a while for what I regard as a go to restaurant to set up shop.”

Read the review in full here


AL Munro - June 2017

“Since 1999, I’ve given the Littlest Hobo a run for his money averaging a move every year. One such spell took saw me lay my hat in Llandaff North when I was married (proving the past really is a foreign country) and I became a frequent visitor to Llandaff Village. A haven unique to Cardiff, I became a devotee of K2 for breakfast and Mulberry Street for dinner.”

Read the review in full here


GourmetGorro - May 2015 -

“Porro is the brand new restaurant from the team behind the excellent Potted Pig.
Located in the affluent suburb of Llandaff (an area short of decent restaurants), it’s a canny destination for their second venture. And with a menu of fairly priced, modern Italian food served in a classy dining space, all of the building blocks are in place for another success.”

Read the review in full here


WalesOnline - January 2016 -

“There was much excitement when the team behind Cardiff ’s award-winning Potted Pig announced it was opening another venue in Llandaff.
Porro was billed as a ‘fresh and rousing Italian-inspired restaurant’ with its own distinct identity.”

Read the review in full here


Red Handed

“City-centre chic meets suburban sleek at The Potted Pig’s sister restaurant, Porro. After opening in May, this fine dining hot-spot has become a firm Llandaff village favourite. Playing a prominent role on the high street, the door is open for breakfast, lunch and supper and draws foodies from near and far.”

Read the review in full here